The Saint Lucia Bureau of Standards (SLBS) was established in 1991 and administers the Standards Act No. 14 of 1990 (Chapter 13.25) & the Metrology Act  No. 17 of 2000 (Chapter 13.18)

The SLBS is governed by a Standards Council appointed by the Minister in the Department of  Commerce, Industry, Investment, Enterprise Development and Consumer Affairs.  The Council meets every quarter.  Its term of office shall not exceed three years.

The Executive Office is headed by the Director who is responsible for the overall administration of the SLBS and reports to the Standards Council.